I like… our reading

One of my most anticipated things about the ceremony will be our reading. This is something that I had known of for a while, but it had never occurred to me to use it as a wedding reading. I saw it on a blog, a couple of blogs actually, and I fell in love before I was even engaged. Luckily, Mr. Dear was charmed by it as well. It is a book written in the late sixties. A children’s book. The title is I like You by Sandol Stoddard Warburg. Here’s an excerpt:

“…On the Fourth of July

I like you because it is the Fourth of July

 On the Fifth of July I like you too

If you and I had some drums

And some horns and some horses

If we had some hats and some flags and some fire engines

We could be a HOLIDAY

We could be a CELEBRATION

We could be a WHOLE PARADE

See what I mean?

Even if it was the nine hundred and ninety-ninth of July

 Even if it was August

Even if it was way down in the bottom of November

Even if it was no place in particular in January

I would go on choosing you

And you would go on choosing me

Over and over again That’s how it would happen every time

I don’t know why…”

If you’ve never read it, you must go read it now. And then you can tear up a little because you like your fiancé.

Leave a Reply

