Photographer Interrogation!!!

When I SELECTED my photographer, I forgot to bring the list of questions I had prepared with me. So much for all that preparation. I’m posting them here so that somebody can get some use out of it.

  1. Describe your photography style
  2. What is your favorite shot you’ve taken?
  3. What is your approximate turnaround time for teasers? First round of edits? Proofs? Album?
  4. Do you use digital/film/or both?
  5. How many photos do you typically shoot at a wedding/pics per hour? How many do you edit after the wedding?
  6. What time do you arrive to set up? Is that time included in the 4 hours?
  7. What are your OT charges?
  8. Do you bring backup equipment/how/when do you backup files?
  9. proofs? How many do I receive?
  10. Do you offer online ordering/proofing? Costs?
  11. Are you familiar with our location? Can you visit it beforehand to check it out?
  12. What is your payment policy? When, how much, type?
  13. Can you try to accommodate specific shots I want from my wedding?

 

This is the list of questions that Delvon made up for me when I forgot my question list at our meeting:

1. What’s your primary style?

My main goal is for you to be relaxed. If you are uncomfortable, it will show in your photos. I have a creative-artistic style and a lot of the time, the best pictures are captured when you think I’m not snapping! THOSE are my favorites. It’s not forced or uncomfortable, just real.

2. Do you shoot in color or black and white? Or both?

I shoot in a digital format that can create both color and b&w versions of the same picture. I include the color version of every picture and then apply special editing to my favorites or ones that I think will look good in another color scheme. If you are loving a certain photo that I have not applied any special editing to, just let me know, and I would be happy to do it!

3. What kind of input can we have on the direction of the shots? Can we give you a shot
list to work from?

 I would LOVE for you to give me a list of ideas that you want. After
all, this is YOUR special day and I’m here to capture it. I have a detailed wedding shot list that I will give you 2-3 weeks before your wedding for you to check off what you want. You most certainly can add in whatever you like! I will be keeping in touch with you and talking to you about different ideas. I will always try to put a unique twist on things. As far as me giving direction for the shots, if I notice that you can’t see someone’s face or that your face is angled a way that isn’t flattering, I will ask you to look into a different direction. I will not make you feel obligated to do something that you are uncomfortable with.

4. How many other events will you also photograph the weekend of our wedding?

 I typically do not schedule any other sessions for the weekend of the wedding.

5. Does “coverage hours” include the time it takes you to set up and get acquainted with
the venue?

No. Coverage will begin for the amount of hours in your package prior to
the start of the ceremony and will continue for the amount of hours purchased, contiguously. I will arrive early regardless, but depending on how familiar I am with the venue, I will allot myself enough time to look around and check for photo
opportunities.

6. What kind of equipment will you bring with you?

 Currently I shoot with a Nikon SLR D3000. I will be upgrading before the 2011 wedding season and using my current camera as a backup. I use an external flash when needed. I always bring extra batteries and memory cards and I make sure to change out my battery and card right before the ceremony to avoid any problems that may happen!

7. Can other people take photos while you are taking photos?

 As long as it doesn’t interfere with the plans/time frame that the Bride & Groom have prepared and have discussed with me, I have no problem with it whatsoever.

8. How long after the event will the proofs be ready?

 This depends on how busy the season is at the time of your wedding. It will take at least 2 weeks, but no longer than 4 weeks.

9. Do you offer printing services?

Yes. Prints, enlargements framed enlargements, canvases, and acrylic albums can all be purchased additionally. All of my wedding packages include a disc with all high resolution digital images taken and a password protected online gallery for friends and family viewing/print purchasing. I chose this method by asking brides what they would prefer to be included in their wedding package and got a lot of feedback for the disc.

10. What happens if I decide to cancel the reservation?

 I require a 25% deposit at the time of booking to hold your date. The deposit holds the date of your wedding exclusively and is non-refundable. The remaining balance is due no later than 7 days prior to the date of the wedding.

Leave a Reply

